La Crète, Grèce

  • Home
  • /
  • La Crète, Grèce

La Crète, Grèce

12 Jan, 2016 / 0

La Crète est la cinquième plus grande île de la Méditerranée et la plus peuplée des îles grecques. Elle constitue l’une des treize régions administratives de la Grèce et contribue pour une part importante dans l’économie et l’héritage culturel de la Grèce, tout en conservant ses propres spécificités culturelles locales (telles que sa propre poésie et sa propre musique). La Crète était autrefois le centre de la civilisation minoenne (c. 2700-1420 BC), considérée comme la plus ancienne en Europe.

 

La Crète est divisée en quatre unités régionales : Chania, Rethymno, Heraklion et Lasithi. Ces unités régionales sont subdivisées en 24 municipalités.

 

La langue crétoise

Le Crétois s’apparente à la langue grecque.  Cette langue régionale est parlée par plus d’un demi-million de personnes en Crète et par plusieurs milliers d’autres dans la diaspora à travers le monde.

Le Crétois est parlé par la grande majorité des grecs crétois de l’île de Crête, ainsi que par plusieurs milliers de crétois installés dans les grandes villes grecques, notamment  à Athènes. La diaspora crétoise est principalement concentrée aux Etats-Unis, en Australie et en Allemagne.

Notons également que les descendants de nombreux musulmans crétois qui ont quitté l’île au cours du 19ème et du début du 20ème siècle continuent de pratiquer cette langue. En Turquie, ils sont appelés les  « Crétois Turcs ». D’autres descendants des crétois musulmans se sont établis dans la ville côtière Syrienne d’Al Hamidiyah, ainsi que dans les territoires voisins du Liban.

Crete, Greece

  • Home
  • /
  • Crete, Greece

Crete, Greece

12 Jan, 2016 / 0

Crete is the largest and most populous of the Greek islands, the fifth-largest island in the Mediterranean Sea, and one of the thirteen administrative regions of Greece. It forms a significant part of the economy and cultural heritage of Greece while retaining its own local cultural traits (such as its own poetry, and music). Crete was once the center of the Minoan civilization (c. 2700–1420 BC), which is currently regarded as the earliest recorded civilization in Europe.

Crete with its nearby islands form the Crete Region (Greek: Περιφέρεια Κρήτης), one of the 13 regions of Greece which were established in the 1987 administrative reform. With the 2010 Kallikratis plan, the powers and authority of the regions were redefined and extended.

The region is based at Heraklion and is divided into four regional units (pre- Kallikratis prefectures). From west to east these are: Chania, Rethymno, Heraklion, and Lasithi. These are further subdivided into 24 municipalities.

Cretan dialect

Cretan Greek (also Cretan dialect; Greek: Κρητική διάλεκτος or Κρητικά) is a dialect of the Greek language, spoken by more than half a million people] in Crete and many thousands in the diaspora.

The Cretan dialect is spoken by the majority of the Cretan Greeks in the island of Crete, as well as by several thousands of Cretans who have settled in major Greek cities, notably in Athens. In the major centers of the Greek diaspora, the dialect continues to be used by the Cretans, mainly in the United States, Australia, and Germany.

In addition, the descendants of many Cretan Muslims who left the island during the 19th and early 20th century continue to use it. In Turkey, they are called Cretan Turks. There is another grouping of Cretan Muslims in the coastal town of Al Hamidiyah, Syria, and the neighboring territories of Lebanon.